Motown

There is so much to love about Detroit. Matt and I are quite excited about the city and what we see going on in it, but needless to say, we have a lot to learn about it as well. Even though we ended up renting a place in Ferndale (there was literally nothing available in Midtown during the time we had to search for a place) I know we will be spending a lot of time in the actual city center as well as our new quirky neighborhood. While we were checking out different neighborhoods and looking at apartments (all two of which were actually available) we spent a lot of time at coffee shops, different christmas celebrations and just walking everywhere we possibly could. It’s definitely a different place to be than Boston, but I think we will love it once we get settled into our routine (and possibly get a puppy!) I wanted to share a few pictures I snapped while walking around. I hope to go more into detail about some of these places as I get to know them better… but until then, I’ll leave a short description & just let you look.

1. Royal Oak Brewery

2. Detroit Public Library: Stunning! I can’t wait to spend more time here

3. Great Lakes Coffee: a great Midtown find

4 & 6. Germacks wall of tea, found in Eastern Market (a HUGE farmers/ local goods market) in which I already adore

5, 7, & 9: Pictures taken downtown Detroit during the Tree Lighting Celebration. It was cool to see so many people together for the event!

8: Holiday Magic Parade in Royal Oak: Those unicycle people were awesome.

I am itching to get our place somewhat settled so we can really start to explore & get to know our new home on a deeper level. Perhaps I’ll even finish my portfolio and start looking for a new job out here one of these days (I’m not sure if i mentioned it, but I’m working remotely for my Boston job for a little while)! Oh, and I think we’re going to try to have our place prepared enough to get our first Christmas tree as a married couple this weekend! I can’t wait to bring a little holiday cheer into our brand new apartment and re-arange furniture for the christmas tree before it’s even settled into what it will look like the other 11 months of the year! Ay, life is moving so fast for us, but it’s great.

Missing all my Boston friends & looking forward to meet you, Detroit. xoxo, Laura

Leave a Reply

