Ginger Beer (non-alcoholic)

I’m quite certain that I just tasted my first sip of a new household staple here at the Denlinger residence: Ginger Beer. I have long been a lover of ginger and recently I’ve been using the fresh form (a root) to spice up  drinks I make in my juicer (Homemade Ginger Apple Soy’s, anyone?). I’ve also become  slightly obsessed   a fan of Crabby’s alcoholic Ginger Beer (delicious, but  dangerous because it tastes just like a fresh ginger ale). With this in mind, I came across a recipe for Ginger Beer in a cookbook (Adrian Richardson’s “The Good Life”) last weekend that I just HAD to try. Let me just say that my expectations were high and that I wish I would have made much more of this spicy sweet goodness than I had ingredients for… so do yourself a favor and double this recipe if you like ginger as much as I do! 

While I think this drink is perfectly refreshing on its own, I can also imagine that it would be a lovely mixer… so taste a sip and allow your creativity to explore the possibilities!

Take a peak at the pictures and recipe below & enjoy! (my comments are in italics)

Ingredients

100g Ginger, grated (an odd knobby root found in most grocery stores… use a regular peeler to peel & then grate – you will need more root than you think!)

1/2 c. Brown Sugar

Juice of 1 Lemon

1 Cinnamon Stick

250ml water

Ice

Soda Water

Mint Sprigs (I also used lime to garnish because I like the combination and was too lazy to go down to the garden to grab mint this morning… still delicious! )

Directions 

“Combine the ginger, sugar, lemon juice & cinnamon stick in a jug (i used a pint size mason jar) and stir until the sugar dissolves. Stir in water, then cover and refrigerate for 4 days to allow the flavours (the writer/chef is Australian) to develop. Strain and pour into tall glass with ice. Add soda water to taste (a 4:1 ratio is about right), garnish with mint and serve straight away. Serves:6 ”

It’s definitely worth the wait, my friends… just take my advice and double the recipe so it will last before your next batch it ready!

Cheers to Friday!

3 comments

  1. The third photo shows straining the ginger. Where in the recipe does that fit? I’ve just left the ginger in whole. Still have a few days of waiting. Should I strain out ginger when it’s done? Also, the lemons around here are a bit small. About how many mls of lemon juice should I have?

  2. Ignore the above comment. Had another read and you strain AFTER the 4 days. 1 day down, 3 to go. Excited to try it.

    1. Sorry for the late response! We are in the process of moving so I’ve had to ignore the blog a bit. Glad things were figured out! Let me know how you end up liking it!

Leave a Reply

