Rosemary Biscuits & a Honey story

Information on honey & bees have been popping up in my life everywhere, it seems. Although I am very much in active support of the local food movement and the benefits of it to our bodies & each regions success, I admit, that I never really thought much about the honey man (or woman) at my local farmers market… you know the person sitting patiently at his or her stand with hundreds of tiny bottles glistening golden in the sun… the person that, if you’re like me, you’ve have always admired but rarely purchased from and mostly avoided in fear of being suckered into buying a bottle that is so much more expensive than in your normal grocery store.

What I haven’t thought about, however, is the impact that the honeybees who made those little bottles of sweetness have on our local food ecosystem. Those local honeybees (which I tend to fear more than honor) are the tiny little creatures that actually allow the produce that I love so much to flourish. Farmers even hire bee keepers to manage hives near their plants to pollinate the fruit and vegetables, and are an integral part of their success each year. While I probably will not be managing my own hive anytime soon, I did buy my first bottle of locally sourced raw honey in Boston this weekend (which is so pure & way tastier than the teddy bear bottles you get in the supermarket). It was delicious, especially as part of this savory-sweet duo I whipped up Saturday that will definitely become a treasured treat in our home from now on.

I’ll get to the recipe now, but I encourage you to read up a bit about local honey in your area! A small bottle of honey might just be doing more for your community than you think. Check out the recipe and pictures for the rosemary biscuits below (100% husband approved)!

Ingredients

Makes 12 small biscuits (so you may want to make a double batch!)

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons cold butter (cut into little pieces)

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary (chopped)

1/2 cup buttermilk

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Work the butter into the flour with your hands until large crumbles form. Slowly add the buttermilk while mixing. Be careful not to over-mix! Spoon out small balls of the dough and place on lightly greased cookie sheet (the dough was sticky so don’t worry about making them perfect!)

Bake until they are lightly golden, about 10 – 12 minutes. Cut & serve warm with a drizzle of your favorite local honey!

 

Leave a Reply

