The Stunning Alhambra: Honeymoon part II

Hello lovelies!

Today I wanted to share a few more pictures of our honeymoon to Spain! After a few days of glorious relaxation in Estepona, we were ready for an adventure. So, once a bit of research was done, we rented a little Fiat Panda and drove through the countryside of Spain to the stunning Alhambra in the city of Granada. Let me just say, before getting to Alhambra, how gorgeous the miles and miles of olive grove-filled land was. It was such an amazing way to see the country, on our own timeframe (I’m so glad we decided to skip out on the tour bus).

Once in Alhambra, I really feel like the pictures speak better than words, so I’ll just give a few quick highlights:

  1. Entire rooms of Islamic calligraphy and intricate designs carved into detailed arches, ceilings and walls.  I was in heaven.  I can’t even describe how gorgeous each room was and how much each made me appreciate the art of calligraphy further. Wow, is all I can really say.
  2. The joy of strolling through immaculate gardens filled with pools of water and little details everywhere. Just perfect on a sunny day in Spain.
  3. Stunning Views of the city of Granada and the Sierra Nevada Mountains (still snow-capped in early June)!

We spent the day in giddy-bliss snapping pictures and gasping in delight around every corner (okay, maybe only I was gasping) and weren’t even too bothered by the crowds of other tourists that normally make me anxious.  I must confess, however, that while I normally follow the rules when in these sort of situations, we definitely spent about an hour longer in the palace than we were ticketed for (without me even knowing!)… Matthew just couldn’t get me out of each room without studying every detail of every tile and carving… oops!

So without further adieu, check out a few of our pictures that really just skim the depth of beauty of this place. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

