A blueberry kind of sunday

Hey there,

I hope you’re having a restful Sunday! Matthew and I are going to be going blueberry picking this afternoon and I can not contain my excitement! It probably seems strange to be so excited about such a simple thing, but growing up in Michigan, blueberry picking was always a summer-time staple for my family and something about going just brings me straight back to childhood and the joys of trying to find the biggest juiciest berry in the seemingly endless rows of sweet happiness. I remember the farmer always tasking us girls with finding a blueberry the size of a quarter… I think there was some sort of a prize that went along with that, but it always kept us entertained and playful even on a hot summer day like today.

Well, I’ve been on this blueberry kick for a couple weeks now, so I wanted to share with you a delightful summer drink recipe that I’ve been enjoying. I’ve made this blueberry mojito with and without alcohol and it’s just so refreshing and beautiful both ways. Doesn’t it just scream summer to you? Check out the recipe after the pictures. Enjoy!

blueberry mojito

Blueberry Mojito

Ingredients: 1 cup sugar, 1 cup water, 1 cup fresh blueberries, clear rum (optional),  fresh mint, 1 lime, soda water

To Make:

1. First, you must make blueberry syrup, which there are endless possibilities with beyond this drink… think pancake syrup & blueberry lemonade (I made some this weekend with my leftover syrup and it was delightful)! All you do is boil the water, sugar and blueberries at a simmer for 15 minutes and strain out the blueberries when finished. Do this ahead of time and let it cool, or stick in the freezer for a few minutes!

2. Muddle (smash and stir around with the end of a spoon) 5 leaves of fresh mint, and 3/4 of a lime cut into wedges.

3. Add ice and about 6 oz of soda water and 1 shot of clear rum (if you desire) to the cup

4. stir in the blueberry syrup to your desired sweetness!

5. use the last lime wedge to garnish your cup & enjoy.

6 comments

  1. This sounds great! I have just fallen in love with a sparkling elderflower drink, will send you the proportions. :)

    1. ohh please do! that sounds delightful :)

  2. This is much needed after the day that I had today! Thanks for sharing! :)

    1. Cheers to a better day tomorrow!

  3. This looks so berry delicious!! I must try one (or two, or three) of these!

    1. And so easy to prepare ahead of time, so perfect for an end of summer party… that is if you want to share after you’ve tried it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

